The Succeeds Prize Awards

The Succeeds Prize rewards what’s working in Colorado’s public schools to deepen impact and support ongoing innovation.


The Succeeds Prize identifies and celebrates education innovators and exemplars. If selected, winners are:

  • Awarded a $15,000 cash prize to support their work. 
  • Featured in a televised storytelling campaign on 9NEWS.
  • Featured in digital storytelling on Colorado Succeeds’ platforms. 
  • Given opportunities to engage with our wider network of business, policymakers, and organizational partners. 



We seek to invest and amplify the best examples of educators, schools, districts, partnerships, and programs that embody our Vision 2030 Framework and are achieving, or laying the groundwork for, outcomes for students from diverse backgrounds. 

We seek to identify learning providers or key supports to learning providers impacting students ages 3 – 18 in the broadest possible sense. Examples include: 

  • Early childhood education providers
  • K-12 education providers
  • Post-secondary pathways designed for high school students
  • School districts
  • Partnerships among any combination of the above

Selection Process


Application: Applicants respond to a series of questions, articulating why their program should be considered, based on award criteria. The 2021 application will be open from May 1–June 1, 2021.  

Winner & Finalist Selection: Applicants will be reviewed and selected by Colorado Succeed staff with support by an advisory committee of education, business, and philanthropic leaders in Colorado. 

Winner Announcement: Winners for The Succeeds Prize are announced in August.

The Succeeds Prize 2020 Winners & Finalists


Transformational Impact in an Elementary School Award, sponsored by TTEC

  • Vega Collegiate Academy, Aurora Public Schools – FINALIST
  • Wyatt Academy, Denver Public Schools – WINNER

Transformational Impact in a Middle School Award, sponsored by DaVita

  • Beacon Network Schools, Denver Public Schools – WINNER
  • Mesa Middle School, Douglas County Public Schools – FINALIST

Transformational Impact in a High School Award, sponsored by Slalom

  • MiLL National Training Center, Peyton and Widefield School Districts – WINNER
  • Northglenn High School STEM, Adams 12 School District – FINALIST 

Excellence in Education Innovation Award, sponsored by Janus Henderson Investors 

  • Cherry Creek Innovation Center, Cherry Creek School District – WINNER
  • Lake County School District, Leadville – FINALIST 

Excellence in STEM Education Award, sponsored by Ball Corporation 

  • Montrose County School District RE-1J – WINNER
  • Springs Studio for Academic Excellence and Pikes Peak Early College, District 49 – FINALIST 

Excellence in Technology Enabled Learning Award, sponsored by Arrow Electronics 

  • Lone Star School District, Otis – FINALIST
  • The CUBE High School, Denver Public Schools – WINNER
The most prestigious awards and recognition event for Colorado's public schools and educators