Programs in Colorado that Model Agility in Education Awarded $120,000 in Prize Money

  • Colorado Succeeds announced 6 winners of The Succeeds Prize, the most prestigious award recognizing Colorado educators developing agile learners and systems
  • Winner and finalist stories were told through a made-for-TV special on 9News on Sept. 12
  • Six winners received $15,000 and six runners-up received $5,000 to support their innovative programs

Media Note: Photos, video and other editorial material is available by request. Colorado Succeeds leadership, corporate partners, winners and finalists are available for media appearances and interviews by contacting

DENVER, CO – Sept. 17, 2020 – Colorado Succeeds announced winners of The Succeeds Prize, the most prestigious award for Colorado’s public schools and educators through a televised program on 9NEWS on Sept. 12. The winners and finalists were selected for their exemplary education programs that develop agile learners and prepare students to thrive in an ever-changing world. 

In addition to awarding $15,000 to six winners and $5,000 to six runners-up, the program highlighted these schools’ innovative programs, their experiences pivoting to remote learning in response to COVID-19 and their approaches to ensuring educational equity.  

Winner of Transformational Impact in an Elementary School Award, sponsored by TTEC: Wyatt Academy, Denver Public Schools

Winner of Transformational Impact in a Middle School Award, sponsored by DaVita: Beacon Network Schools, Denver Public Schools

Winner of Transformational Impact in a High School Award, sponsored by Slalom: MiLL National Training Center, Widefield and Peyton School Districts

Winner of Excellence in Education Innovation, sponsored by Janus Henderson Investors: Cherry Creek Innovation Campus, Cherry Creek School District

Winner of Excellence in STEM Education, sponsored by Ball Corporation: Montrose County School District RE-1J, Montrose

Winner of Excellence in Technology Enabled Learning, sponsored by Arrow Electronics: The CUBE High School, Denver Public Schools

Winners and finalists showcase a range of forward-thinking education solutions that meet workforce demands in a variety of industries, provide compelling internships and work-based learning models, and utilize innovative school designs. They embody Colorado Succeeds’ Vision 2030 Framework, which outlines the education principles, experiences, and transferable competencies students will need to thrive in an uncertain future.

“Even in challenging times, we were thrilled to celebrate some of our state’s most agile educators through a fourth year of the The Succeeds Prize,” said Scott Laband, President of Colorado Succeeds. “We look forward to sharing their learnings with communities across Colorado and continuing to find more ways to replicate and scale what’s working to ensure that all kids have access to a game-changing educational experience.”

The Succeeds Prize is made possible through investments from the Colorado business community, including 9NEWS/KUSA, mindSpark Learning, TTEC, DaVita, Slalom, Janus Henderson Investors, Ball Corporation, Arrow Electronics and other partners committed to ensuring students are prepared for the future of work.

“Arrow was proud to sponsor The Succeeds Prize because we believe that innovation can, and should be, taught and it’s never too early to ignite a child’s imagination and expose them to technology that will push the boundaries of what’s possible,” said Joe Verrengia, Global Director of Corporate Social Responsibility at Arrow Electronics.

About The Succeeds Prize

The Succeeds Prize is the most prestigious awards and recognition event for Colorado’s public schools and educators. It honors the transformational impact Colorado’s public schools and educators are leading across the state. It also serves as a year-long campaign to implement and scale successful innovations and best practices, so every student in Colorado can benefit. The Succeeds Prize is sponsored by the business community in partnership with Colorado Succeeds, 9NEWS/KUSA, and mindSpark Learning.

Media Contact: Diane Metzger, Communications Manager, or (919) 357-1340.


Communications Manager
Colorado Succeeds