Programs in Colorado that Model Agility in Education Considered for $120,000 in Prize Money

  • Colorado Succeeds announces 12 finalists for The Succeeds Prize, the most prestigious award recognizing Colorado educators developing agile learners and systems 
  • Six winners will receive $15,000 and six runners-up will receive $5,000 to support their innovative programming  
  • Winners will be announced at a televised event in September.  

Media Note: Photos, video and other editorial material is available by request. Colorado Succeeds leadership, corporate partners and finalists are available for media appearances and interviews by contacting 

DENVER, CO  July 29, 2020  Colorado Succeeds announces 12 finalists for The Succeeds Prize, the most prestigious award for Colorado’s public schools and educatorsThe finalists have been selected for their exemplary education programs that develop agile learners and prepare students to thrive in an everchanging world.   

Six winners will receive $15,000 and six runners-up will receive $5,000 to support their innovative work. Winners will be announced through a televised event this September. More details will be released in the coming weeks.  

Finalists for Transformational Impact in an Elementary School Award, sponsored by TTEC: 

  • Vega Collegiate Academy, Aurora Public Schools 
  • Wyatt Academy, Denver Public Schools 

Finalists for Transformational Impact in a Middle School Award, sponsored by DaVita: 

  • Beacon Network Schools, Denver Public Schools 
  • Mesa Middle School, Douglas County Public Schools 

Finalists for Transformational Impact in a High School Award, sponsored by Slalom: 

  • MiLL National Training Center, Widefield School District 
  • Northglenn High School STEM, Adams 12 School District 

Finalists for Excellence in Education Innovation Award, sponsored by Janus Henderson Investors:

  • Cherry Creek Innovation Campus, Cherry Creek School District 
  • Lake County School District, Leadville 

Finalists for Excellence in STEM Education Award, sponsored by Ball Corporation:

  • Montrose County School District RE-1J, Montrose 
  • Springs Studio for Academic Excellence and Pikes Peak Early College, District 49 

Finalists for Excellence in Technology Enabled Learning Award, sponsored by Arrow Electronics: 

  • Lone Star School District, Otis 
  • The CUBE High School, Denver Public Schools 

Colorado Succeeds, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that brings business leaders across the state together to ensure all of Colorado’s children are educated to their greatest potential, leads The Succeeds Prize annually, in partnership with 9NEWS and mindSpark Learningto recognize, and invest in, educators that are reimagining education to prepare students for jobs that don’t yet exist, tools not yet created and problems not yet identifiedBy amplifying these educators, The Succeeds Prize allows students and families across Colorado to benefit from their experience, insight and lessons learned.  

“In Colorado, there are outstanding examples of schools and districts innovating the way they prepare students through developing real world skills, expanding access to growth and development opportunities, and instilling a lifelong love of learning,” said Scott Laband, President of Colorado Succeeds. “Today, more than ever, the finalists stand out as true examples of what Colorado schools are doing to keep pace with the changing world around us.” 

Colorado Succeeds received over 65 applications from schools and districts across the state for The Succeeds Prize. Finalists were selected through a rigorous, data-driven process involving education, business, and philanthropic leadersFinalists embody Colorado Succeeds’ Vision 2030 Framework, which outlines the education principles, experiences, and transferable competencies students will need to thrive in an uncertain future.  

Finalists for this year showcase a range of forward-thinking education solutions that meet workforce demands in a variety of industries, provide compelling internships and work-based learning models, and utilize innovative school designs.   

About The Succeeds Prize 

The Succeeds Prize is the most prestigious awards and recognition event for Colorado’s public schools and educators. It honors the transformational impact Colorado’s public schools and educators are leading across the state. It also serves as a year-long campaign to implement and scale successful innovations and best practices, so every student in Colorado can benefit. The Succeeds Prize is sponsored by the business community in partnership with Colorado Succeeds, 9NEWS/KUSA, and mindSpark Learning 

Media Contact: Diane MetzgerCommunications Manager, or (919) 357-1340.  

Communications Manager
Colorado Succeeds